Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Tinker Juarez’s 1993 Team Storm Klein


The early 90s may have been the heyday of American XC mountain bike racing, with legends like John Tomac, Ned Overend, and Tinker Juarez duking it out at the NORBA national races. Of the three, Tinker was probably the most striking figure. Though not big in stature, it was hard to miss the curly mess of dreadlocks flowing out from under his helmet, and the tanned skin stretched over his skinny sinewy legs. And with brilliant a nickname like Tinker, he was like a comic book character come to life. But he wasn’t all image. He was fast and skilled and he proved it on the race course.

It was during the early 90s that he rode a bike probably as iconic as himself: the Storm Klein Adroit. Like him, it was easy to pick out of a crowd with its custom purple cloud and lightning bolt paint job. Tinker raced this particular Adroit in 1993, his final year with Klein, and the year of his first UCI world cup win at Mont St. Anne. It has all the features that made Klein frames far ahead of their time: an integrated headset, press-fit bottom bracket, and internal cable routing. Though likely a nightmare for mechanics, these features gave the bike and its oversized aluminum tubing clean smooth lines that epitomized the pinnacle of race bikes for this era. Thanks to a collaboration between Ringle and Grafton, the bike has an abundance of components anodized in 3D Violet, the color that was all the rage at the time. The Ringle seatpost is a custom one-off made for racers like Tinker. Ringle took their oversized 31.8 posts made for Doug Bradbury and slimmed them down to 31.6mm for the Kleins and then pressed in their standard head. The fork on the bike is a Klein Strata, left on from the last race Tinker rode on this bike. The 1993 World Championships in Metabief, France were plagued with thick, heavy mud, which forced riders to run portions of the course. For this Tinker wanted the lightest bike possible and so had his Euro Distributor, MTB Cycletech, source a fork to replace the Klein’s RockShox Mag-21 SL Ti.


Tinker Juarez's 1993 Team Storm Klein

More from MTB Collection

More from Road Collection

Otis Guy’s 1978 Breezer Series 1 #2.81

1980 Ritchey “Pre Serial #”

1980 Breezer Series II #19

1982 Breezer Series III #32

1982 Salsa Scoboni #5

1982 Sweetheart Cycles Moto Cruiser

1983 Breezer Series III #43

1983 Ritchey “Faux Lugs” Competition

1983 Cunningham Indian #29

1983 Mantis Sherpa

1984 Moots Mountaineer

1984 Swift Mountain Bike

1985 Ibis Custom

1985 Velocitech Mountain Machine

1985 Mountain Goat Camoflage Deluxe

1985 Salsa Ala Carte

1985 Steve Potts Limited Edition

1985 Fisher Competition

Scot Nicol’s 1986 Ibis Trials Pro

1986 Ross Signature Team

1987 WTB Team Trek

1987 Klein Pinnacle “Kleiningham”

1987 Fat Chance Kicker

1987 Yeti Yak

1987 Rossin Max Concept

1987 Steve Potts Signature

1988 WTB Wildcat Prototype

Hank Barlow’s 1988 Merlin Ti

1988 Mongoose Tomac Signature

1988 Cunningham Racer 22C

1988 Cunningham Racer 24C

Russell Worley’s 1988 Yeti FRO

1988 Cunningham Racer 25C

1988 Mountain Goat Dinoflage Deluxe

Chris Herting’s 1988 Yeti FRO

1989 Mantis XCR

1989 Otis Guy Braunstein Quay Art of the MTB

1989 Salsa Scoboni Custom

1989 Salsa Titanium Prototype Ala Carte

1989 Gecko Y-File

1989 Doug Bradbury Manitou

1990 Mountain Goat Yuppie Deluxe

1990 Mantis Valkyrie

1990 Doug Bradbury Manitou Mountain Bike

1990 Fat Chance Yo Eddy

1990 Koga-Miyata Ridgerunner Alloy

Juli Furtado’s 1990 Yeti FRO

Juli Furtado’s 1990 Yeti C-26

Juli Furtado’s 1991 Yeti ARC

1991 Doug Bradbury Manitou Mountain Bike

1991 Salsa Ala Carte Jelly Bean

1991 Yeti Tree Frog #2

Greg Herbold’s Titanium Miyata

1991 Yeti Ultimate

Travis Brown’s 1991 Manitou FS

1991 Klein Attitude Campagnolo

1991 Klein Dolomite Attitude

1992 Yeti Campagnolo Ultimate

1992 Specialized Epic Ultimate

Ned Overend’s 1992 Specialized M2

1992 Team Issued Slingshot

1992 Fat Chance Yo Eddy

1992 Clark-Kent Fat Bike

1992 Klein Gossamer Attitude

1993 Klein Team Storm Adroit

Matt Parker’s 1993 Yeti Ultimate XL

Tinker Juarez’s 1993 Team Storm Klein

Missy Giove’s 1993 Yeti ARC ASLT

1993 Raleigh Tomac Signature

Jacquie Phelan’s 1993 WTB Phoenix

1994 Merlin Newsboy

1994 Yeti ARC

Kurt Stockton’s 1995 Kamikazi Rubicon

Myles Rockwell’s 1998 Cannondale Fulcrum

Yeti C-26 – 20th Anniversary Special

Travis Brown’s 2000 Sydney Olympics Trek

Myles Rockwell’s 2000 Giant ATX One

Travis Brown’s 2004 Marathon Trek

Travis Brown’s 2007 Trek 69er